About Us

Organization MeetingCouncil of Churches of Greater Washington, CCGW, falls under the umbrella of the National Council of Churches of Christ in the USA which has been the leading force for ecumenical cooperation among Christians in the United States.

CCGW, primarily has four main purposes:

1. Promote Christianity and Christian love and cooperation and collaboration among Christian people, churches and related organizations through dedication to stimulate, facilitate and coordinate the work of the religious community to carry out the will of God in the Greater Washington, DC area.

2. Represent Christian interests and positions on issues in the Greater Washington, DC community.

3. Minister to all people, particularly victims of injustice, i.e., liberation of every manner of oppressed people and promote Christianity and Christian love and co-operation.

4. Collectively provide services, as Jesus would have us do, in those matters and situations too difficult or awkward for a single church or person or better done communally by all working together.


DC Area Road Map

Council jurisdiction extends over the District of Columbia, Fairfax County, Virginia, Montgomery and Prince Georges Counties, Maryland and all jurisdictions within.

Those of us active in the Council, believe that your Christian experience will be significantly enhanced by promoting and participating in the Council of Churches of Greater Washington. We will welcome you with open arms.

Officers and Members


Rev. Dr. James E. Terrell

Executive Vice President
Mr. Douglas Cook

Vice President of Operations
Rev. C. T. Riley

Vice President of Programs
Mrs. Susan Meehan

Vice President of Youth
Rev. James S. Terrell

Minister Delores M. Gray

Rev. Jesse J. Jackson

Board Members

Mrs. Betty Adams
Rev. Dr. Lewis Anthony
Rev. Michael Armstrong
Rev. Kip Banks
Rev. Catherine Bego
Rev. Dr. Myrtle Bowen
Rev. Robert Cheeks, Jr.
Mrs. Onra Dillard
Rev. Goodwin Douglas
Rev. Dr. Constance C. Evans
Rev. Robert Gessart
Rev. Wilbert Gray, Sr.
Rev. Thomas J. Henderson
Rev. Dr. E. Gail Anderson Holness
Rev. Robert King
Rev. John T. Mathison
Rev. Anthony J. Motley
Rev. Dr. Winston C. Ridley
Rev. Dr. Rosetta Robinson
Rev. Donald K. Sadler
Rev. Peter Schell
Rev. Dr. Blanche Smith
Rev. James S. Terrell
Mr. Edward White
Mrs. Margaret E. Williams